A Japanese head spa in Tokyo is a private, appointment-only treatment in which a therapist cleanses and massages your scalp at a reclining shampoo basin, usually works on the neck and shoulders, and then dries your hair. On the salons' own websites, read on October 15, 2026, most 60 to 90 minute courses cost between ¥12,000 and ¥25,000, and the longest course we found is 210 minutes for ¥57,750. Several salons publish English menus and take bookings online from abroad.

This guide covers what happens in a session, six places in Tokyo with menus on their official sites, the booking and cancellation rules that catch travellers out, the etiquette of a first visit, and where a head spa sits best in a trip. If you are building a longer wellness trip, our seven-day wellness itinerary shows where a session like this fits.

Key points


WHAT A JAPANESE HEAD SPA IS

Belle Cheveu, which opened in 2006 and describes itself as Japan's first salon devoted only to head spa treatments, explains on its English FAQ that a Japanese head spa combines scalp cleansing, shampooing, massage and hair care, which it says makes it more than a scalp massage. None of the salons below cut or colour hair.

A session usually runs in this order: a consultation, oil or cream worked through the scalp, one or more shampoos, a treatment for the hair, and a massage of the neck and shoulders, often with the bed raised to a seated position. Some salons add a head soak, in which warm water is run over or around the head. It ends with drying and, at most salons, a drink.

Some salons use strong language about what a session does. We report what each one says is included and leave the claims to them. Belle Cheveu's own FAQ is a sensible guide here: asked about jet lag, it says many people find a head spa relaxing after a long flight, and that it is a relaxation and beauty treatment and no medical treatment for jet lag.

TOKYO HEAD SPAS WITH ENGLISH ON THEIR OWN SITES

We chose places whose own websites publish a menu with prices and times. Five have English pages. Rabbicour's site is in Japanese, but its FAQ answers what an English-speaking guest will ask, so we include it with that note.

HEAD SPA Kuu, Omotesando and Shinjuku

HEAD SPA Kuu in Omotesando is a few minutes' walk from Exit B1 of Omotesando Station and open daily from 10:00 to 21:00, except over the year end and New Year. It has five fully private rooms, each with its own shampoo basin and heated floor. A Shinjuku salon, two minutes from JR Shinjuku Station, opened on January 8, 2026 with the same prices.

The Premium Head Spa comes in five lengths, tax included: 90 minutes for ¥24,750, 120 for ¥33,000, 150 for ¥41,250, 180 for ¥49,500 and 210 for ¥57,750. The English menu lists each step of the 90 minute course: a foot bath, consultation, head oil massage, massage shampoo, cream massage, hair treatment, scalp serum, a seated neck and shoulder massage, a blow-dry with a brush, and a drink.

Online booking requires membership and card payment at the time of booking, and the booking page states that no refunds are given once a reservation is confirmed. The online system takes one guest per booking; for a pair, Kuu asks you to contact it in advance by email, WhatsApp or LINE. The booking page lists a makeup room and a change of clothes.

Belle Cheveu, Hiroo, Daikanyama and Yoyogi-koen

Belle Cheveu runs four Tokyo salons with one menu and one price list: Komazawa, Daikanyama, Hiroo and Yoyogi-koen. Hiroo is four minutes on foot from Hiroo Station on the Hibiya Line. The salons open every day except over the New Year holidays.

The Scalp Cleansing Treatment and the Scalp Massage Treatment are each 75 minutes for ¥19,000, the Scalp Care and Hair Treatment is 90 minutes for ¥22,000, and a fourth 90 minute course is ¥24,000. The salon states that prices include tax, service, a drink and hair drying. The menu time is the treatment alone; allow about two and a half hours from arrival to departure. Belle Cheveu says it offers a limited selection of treatments to guests who do not speak Japanese, because communication takes longer, and that staff use translation tools. The therapist partly dries your hair and you finish it with the salon's dryers and styling tools.

SEAM GINZA

SEAM GINZA is on the third floor of ONE GINZA, a minute from Exit 7 of Ginza-itchome Station, open from 11:00 to 20:00, and sells salon hair care on the same floor. Its English page lists five courses in fully private rooms: 45 minutes for ¥12,000, 60 minutes with blow-dry for ¥13,800 (about 75 minutes in all), 90 minutes for ¥17,800, 120 minutes for ¥20,800 and 150 minutes for ¥25,000. Courses of 90 minutes or more include a head soak. The page does not say whether tax is included or publish a cancellation policy, and bookings go through the beauty booking site it links to.

Head Spa Luxe Tokyo by Maris Gina, Shibuya

Head Spa Luxe Tokyo is about five minutes on foot from Shibuya Station, diagonally across from Tower Records, and open from 10:00 to 19:00. The salon says its reservations team handles English and the treatments are given by Japanese therapists. Courses: 60 minutes for ¥12,000, two 90 minute courses at ¥18,000 and ¥23,800, 120 minutes for ¥29,800, and 150 minutes for ¥48,000. The page does not say whether tax is included, and course time includes the consultation. You dry your own hair at a styling area with dryer, straightener and curling iron; drying by staff comes with the hair treatment add-ons.

Rabbicour, Ginza

Rabbicour has two salons in Ginza, the Ginza store (Exit B6 of Ginza Station) and the Tokyo store (Exit A13), both open from 10:00 to 22:00 and closed January 1 to 3, each with seven themed private rooms. Its four courses run 60, 90, 90 and 120 minutes, the last two with a head soak. The menu page gives tax-included prices of ¥12,800 to ¥19,800 at the Ginza store and ¥14,800 to ¥21,800 at the Tokyo store, while the FAQ gives ¥13,800 to ¥20,800 for both, so we confirm the figure on the booking screen.

The FAQ says no staff member speaks English, that guests who do not speak Japanese are welcome, that staff use a translation app, and that an English paper consultation sheet is available. Every course includes a shampoo; staff dry your hair and brush it lightly. At the Ginza store you stay in your own clothes; at the Tokyo store you change and oil is used. You pay at the salon on the day, with no deposit, and cancel up to the day before through the link in the confirmation email.

YU, THE SPA at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

For a hotel setting, YU, THE SPA at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo lists a 45 minute Head and Hair Awakening for ¥23,000, which the hotel describes as working from the neck and shoulders up to the crown, with a clay mask for the scalp or a cream mask for the hair. The menu asks guests to wash their own hair afterwards, so it suits an evening when you are going back to your room. The spa is open from 10:00 to 21:15 for guests aged 16 and over, and asks to be told of allergies and tattoos in advance. The page does not say whether tax or service is included.

PRICES TIMES AND CANCELLATION RULES

Head spa courses in Tokyo, read on the official sites on October 15, 2026
Salon or spaCourses and pricesTime to allow
HEAD SPA Kuu, Omotesando and Shinjuku90 min ¥24,750 to 210 min ¥57,750, tax includedBooking page shows a 90 minute course as two hours
Belle Cheveu, four salons75 min ¥19,000; 90 min ¥22,000 or ¥24,000; tax and service includedAbout two and a half hours
SEAM GINZA45 min ¥12,000 to 150 min ¥25,000; tax not statedAbout 75 minutes for the 60 minute course
Head Spa Luxe Tokyo, Shibuya60 min ¥12,000 to 150 min ¥48,000; tax not statedCourse time includes the consultation
Rabbicour, Ginza60 min from ¥12,800 to 120 min up to ¥21,800, tax included75 to 120 minutes in all
YU, THE SPA, Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo45 min ¥23,000; tax and service not statedHair washed by the guest afterwards
Booking and cancellation, as each official site states it on October 15, 2026
Salon or spaHow to book and payCancellation
HEAD SPA KuuOnline, card payment at booking; pairs by email, WhatsApp or LINENo refund once confirmed
Belle CheveuEnglish online form; major cards acceptedFree before 10:00 three days before; after that 50% to change, 100% to cancel
SEAM GINZABooking site linked from the salon pageNot published on the salon page
Head Spa Luxe TokyoOnline booking linked from the salon page100% for notice after 19:00 the day before, and for no-shows
RabbicourWebsite, LINE or Instagram; pay at the salonUp to the day before by email link; later rules not stated
YU, THE SPAReservation in advance100% within 24 hours, or 4 hours for hotel guests

Belle Cheveu waives its charge when your transport is delayed or suspended by bad weather or a disaster, allows one change per booking, and may cancel and charge in full if you are more than 30 minutes late. Head Spa Luxe Tokyo takes payment in advance for treatments over three hours and does not reschedule them.

YOUR FIRST VISIT STEP BY STEP

Arrive at your booked time. Belle Cheveu says there is no need to come early and that lateness shortens the consultation or the course; Rabbicour asks guests filling in a paper sheet to arrive about ten minutes before.

Hair, colour and extensions

Your hair will be shampooed. Belle Cheveu recommends waiting at least three days after colouring, a perm or straightening, asks for hair extensions to be removed, and says it cannot treat dreadlocks or tightly coiled Afro hairstyles. If any of these apply, we raise it with the salon before anything is arranged.

Make-up and styling afterwards

Lying back with the neck and décolletage massaged will move make-up. Kuu, Rabbicour, Belle Cheveu and Head Spa Luxe Tokyo all describe a powder room or styling area with dryers and irons. Kuu blow-dries with a brush, Rabbicour dries and brushes lightly, Belle Cheveu dries partly, and Head Spa Luxe Tokyo leaves drying to you. None of them describes styling for an evening out as part of the course.

What to wear

Belle Cheveu and Rabbicour both advise against turtlenecks and high collars, because the neck is part of the treatment. Loose, comfortable clothes work everywhere.

Health and pregnancy

Belle Cheveu recommends that guests under four months pregnant wait before visiting. Rabbicour treats pregnant guests in the stable period with a doctor's permission and a signed consent form, and asks guests with a medical condition, scalp inflammation or allergies to tell it before booking. If you are pregnant, have a health condition or sensitive skin, we tell the salon in advance and follow its advice.

WHERE A HEAD SPA FITS IN YOUR ITINERARY

We place a head spa where the day already slows down, and where wet hair and a two hour block do not collide with anything that needs you dressed up.

The day after you arrive

The first full day in Tokyo is often light by design. A late morning or early afternoon session sits well between a quiet breakfast and an early dinner near your hotel, and salons such as Belle Cheveu accept online bookings before you travel.

After a long transfer

The afternoon you return to Tokyo from Kyoto or Hakone works too, if the booking leaves room for a delayed train. Here we read the cancellation terms most closely: a salon that charges in full on the day, or takes payment with no refund, is a poor match for an afternoon with a journey before it.

Before dinner

A session that ends two to three hours before a reservation leaves time to go back and dress. For a formal dinner, we choose a salon whose finish suits it or move the head spa to another evening.

The last afternoon

Head Spa Luxe Tokyo writes that many guests leave luggage at the salon after checking out, and it has a shower room, so a session in Shibuya can close a trip before an evening flight. We leave a generous margin for the airport.

A head spa pairs well with other slow mornings, such as forest bathing near Tokyo, or with a spa day in our guide to hotel spas in Tokyo and Kyoto.

HEAD SPAS FOR TWO

SEAM GINZA and YU, THE SPA do not address couples on the pages we read, so we would ask before arranging a session.

HOW STAYGO PLANS IT

We start from where you are staying, the shape of each day, and what you want from the session: a long quiet treatment, a short one between other plans, or one taken together. We choose the salon or spa, check the course, the time from arrival to departure and availability, and read its cancellation rules against your travel days. We put together the request to the salon with your course, any notes on hair, health or pregnancy, and whether you want to be treated side by side, and we take your messages while you travel. Nothing is promised until the salon has confirmed it.

You pay each salon, spa, hotel and restaurant directly, at its own rates, and we add no markup or commission. Our Signature planning fee is USD 3,500 for your group, for trips of 7 to 14 days. Longer or more complex journeys are planned as Bespoke. More on our page about beauty and wellness travel in Tokyo and Kyoto.

SOURCES AND HOW WE CHECKED

We read each menu, price, time and rule on the official site of the salon or hotel, or on the booking page linked from it, on October 15, 2026. Where a page did not publish something, such as whether tax is included, the text says so. Prices and rules change, so we read them again for your dates.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

How much does a Japanese head spa cost in Tokyo?

On the official sites we read on October 15, 2026, most 60 to 90 minute courses cost between ¥12,000 and ¥25,000. Longer courses cost more, up to ¥57,750 for 210 minutes at HEAD SPA Kuu. Some salons include tax and others do not say.

Can I book a head spa in Tokyo in English?

Yes. HEAD SPA Kuu, Belle Cheveu, SEAM GINZA, Head Spa Luxe Tokyo and Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo publish menus in English. Belle Cheveu and Rabbicour say their staff use translation tools.

Will my hair get wet?

Yes, at every place in this guide. Rabbicour states that every course includes a shampoo. Kuu blow-dries your hair, Belle Cheveu partly dries it, Head Spa Luxe Tokyo leaves drying to you, and at YU, THE SPA you wash your own hair afterwards.

Can couples have a head spa together in Tokyo?

At some salons. Head Spa Luxe Tokyo treats couples in the same private room, Belle Cheveu treats two people at the same time when booked for two, and Kuu arranges pair treatments on request. Rabbicour gives each guest a separate room.

How long should I allow for a head spa?

Longer than the course time. Belle Cheveu gives about two and a half hours from arrival to departure for its 75 and 90 minute treatments, so add time to restyle your hair if dinner follows.

A QUIET HOUR IN THE MIDDLE OF TOKYO

Tell us your dates, where you are staying and whether you would like to be treated together. We will come back with the salon and the afternoon that suit your trip, with each salon's published rules.

Begin planning →
Also from STAYGO
Japan Beauty and Wellness Concierge for Tokyo and Kyoto → Hotel Spas in Tokyo and Kyoto for Couples: 2026 Guide → Japanese Skincare and Beauty Shopping in Tokyo → A Wellness Week in Japan: 7-Day Tokyo, Hakone and Kyoto Itinerary →